Faculty and Staff


Department of Government Functions & Criteria Document, effective January 2020


Regular Faculty

Thaddieus Conner, Associate Professor

Public Management, Intergovernmental Relations, Public Financing and Budgeting, Education Policy, & Tribal Governance and Administration

Neil Harvey, Professor & Academic Department Head

Comparative Politics, Latin America, Mexico, & U.S.-Mexico Border

Neal Rosendorf, Associate Professor

Modern U.S. Foreign Relations, International Relations History, & Policy Issues

Seong Kang, Assistant Professor

Public Administration, Public and Nonprofit Management, Volunteering and Co-production, Law Enforcement/Policing

Christina Medina, Associate Professor & Director of the Masters of Public Administration (MPA) Program

American Politics, Program Evaluation, Research Methods, & Human Resources

Kim Seckler, College Professor Chair of Undergraduate Committee; Coordinator of the Supplementary Major in Law & Society; Pre-Law Adviser for NMSU students

Public Law, New Mexico Law, & American Government

Sabine Hirschauer, Assistant Professor and Chair, MA in Government Program

Critical Security Studies and Gender, Migration and Identity, International Relations and Comparative Politics Theory

Ani Ter-Mkrtchyan, Assistant Professor

Nonprofit Governance and Accountability, Environmental Policy and Administration, and Energy Policy

Christa Slaton, Professor

Nancy Baker, Professor Emeritus

Yosef Lapid, Professor Emeritus

William Taggart, Professor Emeritus

Russell Winn, Professor Emeritus


Visiting Faculty

  • Susan Spice


Adjunct Faculty